RWA Lifetime Achievement Award

One of the highest honors RWA bestows is the RWA Lifetime Achievement Award. This award is presented to a living author in recognition of significant contributions to the romance genre. To qualify for the award, the recipient's career in romantic fiction must span a minimum of fifteen years. Recipients must in some way continue to promote the romance genre, teach romance in fiction, or publish romantic fiction. In 1994 a new requirement was added, that recipients must maintain active RWA membership. Authors are nominated for the award by RWA members and selected by the Board of Directors.

To nominate a member for the RWA Lifetime Achievement Award, email [email protected].

2019 RWA Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient

Cherry Adair

Always an adventurer in life as well as writing, New York Times best-selling author Cherry Adair moved halfway across the globe from Cape Town, South Africa to the United States in her early years to become an interior designer. Now a resident of the Pacific Northwest, she shares the award-winning adventures of her fictional T-FLAC counter terrorism operatives with her readers.

View Past Recipients


Cherry Adair