The RITA®RITA statuette

The RITA—the highest award of distinction in romance fiction—recognizes excellence in published romance novels and novellas. Up to 2,000 romance novels are entered in the RITA competition in 13 different categories. After the first round of judging by published romance authors, entries that meet the qualifications to become a finalist then advance to the final round.

Once RWA announces the RITA finalists,  judges evaluate and scores these novels to determine the RITA Award winners. The RITA Award winners are announced at a black-tie awards ceremony at the RWA Annual Conference.


Contest Rules

Read the RITA Contest rules


trophy icon

Current Winners

See which authors won the RITA this year

Contest Deadlines

Don't miss important contest deadlines


Past Winners

View past winners of the RITA Award

Contest Judging

View information on RITA judging


Hall of Fame

Multi-RITA winners